Why is knowing the penalties for DUI important?  


Because there are lasting effects of a DUI conviction and some administrative consequences which will happen in just 10 days from your arrest.  Knowing the consequences gives you good reason to fight your DUI, criminally and administratively.  If you don't fight your DUI, at a minimum you will:

Lose your driver license,
Serve 12 months of probation,
Participate in random drug testing,
Pay increased insurance premiums, and
Be adjudicated guilty, which means a permanent criminal record!


Understanding a DUI

A Driving Under the Influence (DUI) can happen to anyone who drives a car in Florida.  Even responsible drivers can find themselves facing DUI charges.  A DUI stays on your driving record for life and will effect insurance rates on vehicle policies and possibly increase health insurance rates. John C. Murphy aggressively defends these charges to help avoid a loss of your driver's license, heavy fines, long probation periods and possible jail time. We can help you keep your driver's license and fight your DUI charge.

The John C. Murphy has a comprehensive understanding of Florida's DUI laws.  From the traffic stop to the breath, urine, or blood test, every element of your case will be carefully investigated and examined.  I will help you understand the possible consequences you face and maximize your chances for a successful defense.  In some cases, I am able to reduce a DUI charge to a Reckless Driving, a lesser charge with less severe penalties.  I have also been able to get some DUI charges dropped.  I will make sure the tests, including the Standardized Field Sobriety Exercises and Breath/Urine/Blood Tests were administered properly.

In addition to the penalties for DUI, you also may lose your license administratively.  The Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may suspend your license even if your criminal case is dropped, reduced to a lesser charge, or found not guilty at trial. I will arrange to get you a temporary license while investigating and preparing for the "Formal Hearing" held by the DMV.  If the DMV invalidates the suspension, you will get your full license restored administratively. When this happens, it can be very beneficial to your criminal case. You have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request a formal hearing and reserve your right to a hearing.


I have drafted a5 step action plan you should take after a Brevard DUI arrest.  Click here to understandwhat steps you need to take before more bad things happen to you and your driving priviledge.  I call this the Post DUI Action Plan.

DUI is a criminal offense.  If you want the best DUI defense possible, John C. Murphy will protect your rights and give you the aggressive defense your deserve.​


​​ Call me at (321) 985-0025 or click here

DUI Penalty Charts

Below are penalty charts for DUI offenses.
First DUI

First DUI over .15
Second DUI Outside Five Years

Second DUI Outside Five Years over .15
Second DUI Within Five Years

Second DUI Within Five Years over .15
Third DUI Within Ten Years

Third DUI Within Ten Years over .15

Third DUI Outside Ten Years 

Third DUI Outside Ten Years over .15
Fourth DUI Charged as a Misdemeanor

Fourth DUI Charged as a Misdemeanor over .15
Fourth DUI Charged as a Felony
Fourth DUI Charged as a Felony over .15


DUI penalties increase based on the frequency of DUI convictions and the severity of your current DUI offense.  
In addition to the criminal penalties for DUI, you are also subject to administrative penalties by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, and to financial and personal collateral consequences.

The following charts may not contain all possible penalties for DUI offenses.   To know the most current DUI penalties, you should contact DUI Lawyer John C. Murphy.


Contact DUI Attorney John C. Murphy at

              (321) 985-0025 or click here


First DUI Penalties
                                               

                                                  Minimum                        Maximum
Fine                            $500                               $1,000
Probation                    1 Day                             1 Year
Jail                              None                              180 days

DUI School*                Level 1                           Level 1

Community Service    50 Hours                        and up
DL Suspension           180 Days                       1 Year
Impoundment             10 Days                          and up
Ignition Interlock         None                              and up

* NOTE: The DUI School includes a substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended counseling/treatment.  Most likely, you will have a probation condition of no consumption of alcohol or illegal drugs with random drug/alcohol testing.


First DUI over .15


These are the enhanced penalties for over .15 breath test or having a minor in the vehicle.  The enhanced penalties include an increased fine, longer jail time and a required ignition interlock device.                                                                                                                                      Minimum                        Maximum 
Fine                                $1,000                            $2,000
Probation                        1 Day                             1 Year
Jail                                  None                              270 days
DUI School*                   Level 1                           Level 1
Community Service       50 Hours                         and up
DL Suspension              180 Days                        1 Year
Impoundment                10 Days                          and up
Ignition Interlock            6 Months                        and up


Schedule your appointment Today at

                 (321) 985-0025 or click here
Back to Top


Second DUI Outside 5 Years
 

To determine whether an offense is outside or within the 5 year time frame, you take the first DUI conviction date and the current DUI arrest date.                                 

                                  Minimum                           Maximum 
Fine                           $1,000                               $2,000
Probation                   6 Months                           1 Year
Jail                             None                                  9 months

DUI School*               Level 2                               Level 2

Community Service   None                                   and up
DL Suspension          180 Days                           One Year
Impoundment            10 Days                              and up
Ignition Interlock        1 Year                                 and up


* NOTE:  The DUI School includes a substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended counseling/treatment.  Most likely, you will have a probation condition of no consumption of alcohol or illegal drugs with random drug/alcohol testing.


Second DUI Outside 5 Years over .15


These are the enhanced penalties for over .15 breath test or having a minor in the vehicle.  The enhanced penalties include an increased fine, longer jail time and ignition interlock period. 

                                  Minimum                           Maximum 
Fine                           $2,000                               $4,000
Probation                   6 Months                           1 Year
Jail                             None                                  1 Year

DUI School*               Level 2                               Level 2

Community Service   None                                   and up
DL Suspension          180 Days                           One Year
Impoundment            10 Days                              and up
Ignition Interlock        2 Years                               and up


There are five (5) convenient ways to contact me!                  (321) 985-0025

Second DUI Within 5 Years

To determine whether an offense is outside or within the 5 year time frame, you take the first DUI conviction date and the current DUI arrest date.  

                                  Minimum                           Maximum 
Fine                           $1,000                               $2,000
Probation                   1 Day                                 1 Year
Jail                             10 days*                             9 months
DUI School*               Level 2                               Level 2
Community Service   None                                   and up
DL Suspension          5 Years                               and up
Impoundment            30 Days                              and up
Ignition Interlock        1 Year                                 and up


* NOTE:  Of the 10 days, at least 48 hours must be consecutive. 
* NOTE:  The DUI School includes a substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended counseling/treatment.  Most likely, you will have a probation condition of no consumption of alcohol or illegal drugs with random drug/alcohol testing.


Second DUI within 5 Years over .15


These are the enhanced penalties for over .15 breath test or having a minor in the vehicle.  The enhanced penalties include an increased fine and a mandatory 10 days jail and longer jail time.                                               

                                                  Minimum                           Maximum 
Fine                           $2,000                               $4,000
Probation                   1 Day                                 1 Year
Jail                             10 days*                             1 Year
DUI School*               Level 2                               Level 2
Community Service   None                                   and up
DL Suspension          5 Years                               and up
Impoundment            30 Days                              and up
Ignition Interlock        2 Years                               and up


Take the time now to learn more about your options !

schedule an appointment ... (321) 985-0025

Back to Top

Third DUI Outside 10 Years

To determine whether an offense is outside or within the 10 year time frame, you take the second DUI conviction date and the current DUI arrest date.  

                                            Minimum                           Maximum 
Fine                           $2,000                               $5,000
Probation                   1 Day                                 1 Year
Jail                             None                                  1 Year
DUI School*               Level 2                               Level 2
Community Service   None                                   and up
DL Suspension         180 days                              and up
Impoundment            10 Days                              and up
Ignition Interlock        2 Years                               and up


* NOTE:  The DUI School includes a substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended counseling/treatment.  Most likely, you will have a probation condition of no consumption of alcohol or illegal drugs with random drug/alcohol testing.


​Third DUI Outside 10 Years over .15

​                               

These are the enhanced penalties for over .15 breath test or having a minor in the vehicle.  The enhanced penalty is a minimum mandatory fine. 

                                  Minimum                           Maximum 
Fine                           $4,000                               $5,000
Probation                   1 Day                                 1 Year
Jail                             None                                  1 Year
DUI School*               Level 2                               Level 2
Community Service   None                                   and up
DL Suspension         180 Days                              and up
Impoundment            10 Days                              and up
Ignition Interlock        2 Years                               and up


(321) 985-0025 Contact me!


Third DUI Within 10 Years
 

To determine whether an offense is outside or within the 10 year time frame, you take the second DUI conviction date and the current DUI arrest date.

                                  Minimum                           Maximum 
Fine                           $1,000                               $5,000
Probation                   1 Day                                 1 Year
Jail                             30 Days*                            1 Year
DUI School*               Level 2                               Level 2
Community Service   None                                   and up
DL Suspension         10 Years                              and up
Impoundment            10 Days                              and up
Ignition Interlock        2 Years                               and up


* NOTE:  Of the 30 days, at least 48 hours must be consecutive.

* NOTE:  The DUI School includes a substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended counseling/treatment.  Most likely, you will have a probation condition of no consumption of alcohol or illegal drugs with random drug/alcohol testing. 


Third DUI Within 10 Years over .15
  

These are the enhanced penalties for over .15 breath test or having a minor in the vehicle.  The enhanced penalties include an increased fine and a mandatory 30 days jail.                                                                      Minimum                           Maximum 
Fine                           $4,000                               $5,000
Probation                   1 Day                                 1 Year
Jail                             30 Days*                             1 Year
DUI School*               Level 2                               Level 2
Community Service   None                                   and up
DL Suspension         10 Years                              and up
Impoundment            90 Days                              and up
Ignition Interlock        2 Years                               and up

(321) 985-0025

Back to Top

Fourth DUI (Misdemeanor)
 

                                          Minimum                           Maximum 
Fine                           $2,000                               $5,000
Probation                   1 Day                                 1 Year
Jail                             30 Days                             1 Year
DUI School*               Level 2                               Level 2
Community Service   None                                   and up
DL Suspension                          Permanent                         
Impoundment            10 Days                              and up
Ignition Interlock        2 Years                               and up


Fourth DUI (Misdemeanor) over .15

                                              Minimum                            Maximum 
Fine                           $2,000                               $5,000
Probation                   1 Day                                 1 Year
Jail                             30 Days                             1 Year
DUI School*               Level 2                               Level 2
Community Service   None                                   and up
DL Suspension                          Permanent                          
Impoundment            10 Days                              and up
Ignition Interlock        2 Years                               and up


Click here to discover the ways to contact me! (321) 985-0025

Back to Top

Fourth DUI (Felony)
                                          

                                  Minimum                           Maximum 
Fine                           $2,000                               $5,000
Probation                   1 Day                                 5 Years
Jail                             None                                  5 Years
DUI School*               Level 2                               Level 2
Community Service   None                                   and up
DL Suspension                          Permanent                          
Impoundment            10 Days                              and up
Ignition Interlock        2 Years                               and up


Fourth DUI (Felony) over .15


                                  Minimum                           Maximum 
Fine                           $2,000                               $5,000
Probation                   1 Day                                 5 Years
Jail                             None                                  5 Years
DUI School*               Level 2                               Level 2
Community Service   None                                   and up
DL Suspension                          Permanent                          
Impoundment            10 Days                              and up
Ignition Interlock        2 Years                               and up 


Click here to contact DUI Attorney John C. Murphy  (321) 985-0025

Contact DUI Defense Attorney John C. Murphy for the DUI defense representation you deserve.  The initial consultation is free and I am always available to advise you on the proper course of action to take.


​Back to Top

DUI Defense
CALL ME  (321) 985-0025
Attorney John C. Murphy

Florida DUI -

Driving Under the Influence

Left to themselves, things tend to go from bad to worse.